week 4

So this week we learned how to speak in a Dominican accent and OH MY GOODNESS… It’s not even spanish. We are literally relearning everything. It’s terrible. It’s so ghetto! They chop up all their words and cut out certain letters of their vocabulary haha we were all just laughing like “ok this is hopeless.” We were told that when we get home, we will be able to understand every dialect of spanish but no one (besides Dominicans) will be able to understand us because it will be so fast and ghetto! So that will be interesting.
We went to the university again and we were just walking around looking for people to talk to and out of no where this young girl called us over to talk to her and her friends and she was so interested in the gospel!! It was so cool. She wanted a book of mormon and to meet with missionaries right away. It really just confirmed to me that the Lord really does prepare people to hear and accept His word. All we have to do is find them.
This week we had a couple new districts join us and we had two Latina sisters and two Northern Americans. As the sister training leader, I got to chose where they sleep and who I wanted to room with and I made the brave choice of rooming with the Latinas. It’s hard but so worth it! I already feel like I am learning so much. I never get a break from Spanish with them haha. I even gave up my one chance to be on the bottom bunk so that was a big sacrifice for me.
I wanted to share an excerpt from D&C 122:7 that I was reading the other day, “if the very jaws of hell shall gape open the mouth wide after thee, know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good.” I just thought how much I could apply this to my life and in the future during my mission! Sometimes the Lord allows us to go through difficult trials because He needed us to gain some sort of experience in order to better ourselves or learn something He knows we will need. AH SO COOL! My love for the scriptures have increased 4857835 times since I’ve been here.
Anyways, I hope all is well back in the States! 😉
I miss you all very much.
Con amor,
Hna Taylor
Leave a Reply

