I think the first few months of a mission is supposed to be like a refiners fire…

Let me just start by sating that I think the first few months of a mission is supposed to be like a refiner’s fire.  I have been praying a lot to see my weaknesses so that I can turn them into strengths like Ether 12:27 invites us to do and let’s just say I didn’t realize how many weaknesses I really had before the mission.  One scripture that really helped give me perspective this week is Luke 12:34 and 3 Nephi 13:21, “For where your treasure is, there will be your heart be also.”  This helped me realize how little my materialistic possessions are really worth and how the gospel of Jesus Christ needs to be my greatest treasure.  I realized that my mindset has always been after money and what career will make me the most and things of that nature.  Although that is important to an extent, I’ve realized that money doesn’t always mean happiness.  I take comfort in the scriptures telling us that as long as we are doing what is right, we will never go without.  Anyways, my companion is so great and we laugh way too much together and she has hilarious jokes.  Also, she is so spiritually in tune with the people here and it is awesome!  We were teaching this lady who we were told her name is Margot and at the end of the lesson my companion called her Juana on accident and she looked at me with this terrified look like she had no clue where that came from and I started laughing so hard that I had to cover my face with a pamphlet.  But the next lesson we found out her name really is Juana!  We were so shocked because there is no way my companion could have known that.

The weirdest thing that has happened to me this week is that I have had 3 different people pet my hair out of no where.  I was walking down the street one day and a teenage boy pet my braid, haha WHAT??  So that’s new.  I’ve gotten proposed to twice this week and one even said he would convert for me if I married him.

The kids 10 and under are usually walking around naked in their houses and I’m always like, “AH!  Where do I look?”  So that’s how hot it is but you already knew that.

We served an old woman who just recently lost her vision and we cleaned her house and did her dishes but we had a really bad feeling in that house so we tried to clean fast and get out.  We made it a goal to do an act of service everyday and the things we’ve been able to do have been really good experiences and a great way to meet people.

We are currently infested with ants and they destroy everything!  You can’t even put food down for a few minutes with out it being taken over by ants.  We lose electricity every night…well…ok…we only have electricity in the mornings and a few hours at night and then you have to try to sleep in your puddle of sweat, haha.  Let’s just say that everyday I am being humbled more and more but it’s all about your attitude and it’s a lot easier when you learn to laugh and it’s a lot easier when you learn to laugh about everything.  Missionary work is called work for a reason, but I sure do love it!

I love you guys!  🙂

Love,

Hermana TaylorDSC00715[1]

Leave a Reply

