Wow!! This week was an interesting one…

Wow!! This week sure was an interesting one. I’ll start from the beginning.  Tuesday i went to the capital to pick up my trainee and our bus broke down midway and we had to get out.  A bunch of men pushed it until it started again.  The bus was so full that people were hanging out of the door.  I’ve never seen something so dangerous, haha but people gasped as we drove by.  My “daughter” or trainee is Hna Rojar from Nicaragua.  She is tiny and adorable and in culture shock, but it’s been fun teaching her the ropes and Dominican Spanish.

The the real fun began Thursday when I woke up and couldn’t open my eyes.  I wet them and removed the stuff that was gluing them together and still couldn’t see because my eyes were the size of base balls.  It was a pretty horrifying  sight and I won’t even describe what they looked like because it’ll freak you out.  haha  On top of that I have the flu.  My poor trainee is probably like, “What the heck am I doing here?”  So I had to go to the hospital and they gave me a lot of medicine for my eyes and said to thank my parents because it’s a chronic skin problem I inherited genetically.  So thank you, parents.  haha.  I had to go to the office after and lost all the pride I had left because I saw all my missionary friends with my balloon eyes and wanted to hide in a hole.  Anyways, after that I went home and slept for 16 hours straight and woke up resurrected.  Okay, just kidding!  I’m still sick but I’m getting better.  I gave my trainee the flu as well so we are suffering together.  So cute!  It’s been pretty crazy but if there’s one thing I’ve learned here, it’s that there is a purpose for everything and sometimes it is a preparation for the future.

My motto this week has been D & C 121:7, “That my afflictions will be but a small moment.”  I really love a saying I heard in Spanish and it is something like this, “God trusts His best fighters with the most battles.”  Instead of getting down, I like to think that we were trusted with the ability to defeat and grow from our trials.

Besos Y abrazos,

Hna Taylor

chelsea#76 chelsea#77

Leave a Reply

