This week has been a week of tormentas!

This week has been a week of tomentas!  It rains extremely hard and the wind gets so strong and dangerous that we can’t leave.  The thunder here is like nothing I’ve ever experienced and is horrifying!!  It was so bad that we couldn’t work for 2 days.  It was pretty ironic because on Saturday, it was the National Day of Service.  We had a service project in the morning and it was hot and sunny.  That same afternoon was the worst storm we had all week and everything flooded so we offered service to all the neighbors on the street.  It was fun how everyone came together to help each other.  After the rain storms, people without water go shower where the water is draining off roofs.   It really makes you thankful for what you have.

My companion and I are doing really well and I have seen a huge change in her already.  It’s crazy how fast the mission  changes people for the better.  My favorite thing that she said to me this week was, “Translate for me, I don’t speak Dominican.”  I hope people will understand my spanish in the states, but at least I never have to worry about people talking too fast.

I found a quote this week by Elder Jeffrey Holland that reads, “Every one of us has times when we need to know things will get better…My declaration is that this is precisely what the gospel of Jesus Christ offers us, especially in times of need.  There is help.  There is happiness… Don’t you quit. You keep walking.  You keep trying… It will be all right in the end.  Trust God and believe in good things to come…  Some blessings come soon, some come later, and some don’t come until heaven, but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.” I hope everyone is doing well and I miss and love you all so much! I get to see your faces in 7 short weeks! But who’s counting? 😉

Love,

Hna Taylor

PS- one of the hermanas told me,” You are older than everyone but look yonger than all of us.” Everyone thinks I’m a baby. 😦

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

