First of all, shout out to Garrett….

First of all, shout out to Garrett for turning 16! Happy birthday!! 🙂

This week was full of weird moments. Let me share my favorite three.
1. I got really sick after eating with a member but have a quote on my wall that Jesus went out and worked when he was suffering and afflicted so I should too and yadda yadda yadda…. so I forced myself to leave and half way down the road there I was sitting on the curb, in the rain, unable to walk any further. My companion was getting a good laugh out of my pain so that was nice haha. Apparently I was walking like “una loca.”
2. The fire alarm started going off at bedtime one night…. right at 10:30. We freaked out thinking there is a fire…. nothing. We disactivated it magically but 10 minutes later it turned back on. Well, I´m not the most patient person in the world so the third time it went off, I got on a chair, ripped it off the wall and slammed it on the ground. My companion was there cheering me on haha. No one interrupts bedtime…
3. I BORE MY TESTIMONY FOR FAST AND TESTIMONY MEETING FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE! I immediately got so nervious and my voice was shaking so bad (you´d think I´m a missionary or something) and I thought I was gonna pass out so I leaned against the wall and bore my testimony. When I sat down I couldn´t feel my arms and thought I was just gonna fall over in my chair haha. WHAT A RUSH. So that was a huge accomplishment for me.
Truly, I just wanted to express my love for my Savior and Redeemer. I realized that if He were there in that sacrament meeting, I would want Him to know how deeply I love and appreciate him and KNOW that His gospel is true. I now have a testimony of testimonies and that they grow stronger each time we share it. I know that my Lord, Jesus Christ, lives! 🙂
I love you guys and this wonderful, life changing work.
Love,
Hermana Taylor
DSC03949
The campo is a refiner´s fire at its finest. At times you want to cry from the conditions and other times you never want to leave the insanity because…. well, it sure makes for some great stories.

We had 2 baptisms this week of two 14 year old girls named Yacaira and Yocaira. It was a Noche Blana for the campo so we had a big baptism with our district which includes 3 other companionships. Here´s how baptism day began: no preisthood able to be present, no running water in the church to fill the font, no baptismal clothing, and no transportation to get our girls to Monte Plata (45 mins away) for the service.  We all put our brain power together and before we knew it, we had a water truck outside hauling in water to fill the font and 2 elders climbing in the ceiling vents to break into a locked room to grab the baptismal clothing. Everything fell together in the knick of time and we had a successful Noche Blanca, campo style.
Other funny moments of the week: A 9 year old girl in one of the families we are teaching said the prayer and included, “bless the drunks and the crazies.” It was classic. We also had a baptism in the middle of district meeting last week and it was the day we realized that baptisms are, in a sense, like weddings. We apply Murphy´s Law and see that everything that can go wrong, will go wrong.
Nonetheless, we had a great week and learned so much in leadership meeting this week! I realized how much more consecrated to this work I can and should be. I am a missionary 24-7 and should never stop doing my Heavenly Father´s work, even on my P-day´s. If we want more blessings, we must be more consecrated. I love leadership counsel days! They always make me want to be a better missionary.
Con mucho amor,
Hermana Taylor
ps…. sorry there are no photos.. the computer is having some technical difficulties
Leave a Reply

